Now known as Stratheden Hospital, Fife and Kinross District Asylum opened on 1st July 1866 and was built to accommodate up to 200 patients. The first Chief Physician, John Batty Tuke, was an early pioneer of 'open door' treatment policy, meaning that patients were granted the responsibility to come and go as they pleased and helped to revolutionise the way psychiatric patients were treated. In 1896, the facility was extended to home up to 600 patients.
Details given include (where available):
- Death date
- Admission Date
- Discharge Date